top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureSimsy Marie

Too Much Sauce in de Doubles?



I have been following Trini Cooking with Natasha for years. I follow her youtube channel, her Instagram and Facebook pages. I am a huge fan. Anytime I want to cook something Trini I turn to her. During lockdown, unable to go home for Christmas because of closed borders, I used her youtube channel for black cake, ponch a crème, and doubles recipes among many others. I love her warm personality and friendly voice. This is why I am infuriated with the negative reaction her now taken down picture of herself in a bathing suit received on Facebook yesterday.


Natasha, you look great in your bikini. It is a beautiful, classy bikini and you have a banging figure and every right to feel proud of your body. I am repulsed by the comments, mostly from women, who felt it necessary to spout hate. One woman said she felt “ashamed” to look at her page, another said it was bad marketing and was “appalled” by the picture, yet another said she was “cheapening” her brand.


Why do we as women have to tear other women down? You don’t like the picture, then fine just keep scrolling. For you to feel ashamed because Natasha is feeling good about herself says more about you than her. I am all for selfies, pictures of people’s babies, their accomplishments, their post workout, and progress pics. In fact, that pretty much sums up my Instagram page. In a world of filters and body shaming, I applaud when women feel good about themselves. That is the kind of role model I want for my daughter and that we should want as a society.


Natasha is a successful, business owner. Looking at her videos I always feel like I have a friend in the kitchen with me. I recommended her just this week to a French friend who wanted to try cooking doubles for the first time (see screenshot below).


Natasha, yuh damn right girl. What is a doubles without slight pepper? Put back up the post, who vex loss.



2,061 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page